top of page

What is Dancesport

Dancesport events are sanctioned and regulated by Dancesport organizations at the national and international level.

Dancesport is both an art and a sport, interpreting and following music with the correct characterization and the physical demands of competition dancing.

A basic overview of Competition dancing:
Recreational Events are for non-registered Dancers. No record of wins or points are maintained. These events are held for new dancers before they move into the Registered/Graded Events

Competitive Registered/Graded Events are for the more serious Competitive Dancer. In New Zealand we have 5 age groups:

  • Juvenile - up to and including 12 years of age

  • Junior - up to and including 15 years of age

  • Adult - 16 years old onwards

  • Youth - 16 years old up to and including 20 years old

  • Masters 1 - 35 years old and over

  • Masters 2 - 50 years old and over

Levels of Competition:

Within each age group are levels (from 2021 called Grades), as couples win competitions they move up the levels

  • Level 1 - from 2021 now called C Grade at this level dancers dance 1 or 2 dances in competition

  • Level 2 & Level 3 - from 2021 now called B Grade at this level dancers dance 3 or 4 dances in competition

  • Level 4 & Level 5 - from 2021 now called A Grade at this level dancers dance 4 or 5 dance in competition

  • Open  (open to all dancers from all levels) - one, two three, four or five dances


Ballroom Dances



Slow Foxtrot

Vienesse Waltz

Latin Dances

Cha Cha
Paso Doble


New Vogue Dances

Merrilyn, Parma Waltz, Tangoette, Gypsy Tap, Barclay Blues, La Bomba, Lucille Waltz, Twilight Waltz, Tracey Leigh Waltz, Tango Terrific, Swing Waltz, Carousel, Evening 3 Step, Excelsior Schotissche, Charmaine

bottom of page